Listen up! The Karatsu Kunchi Festival

In my March 17 column in The Japan Times, I wrote about the Karatsu Kunchi festival that takes place every fall in the town of Karatsu in Saga Prefecture.

I really want you to hear the music that accompanies this festival, so I went through the videos I could find online and selected a few to post here.

This one gets you up close and personal, shot from a famous float-watching spot where the floats have to slow down and turn a sharp corner. This digest video offers a good overview of the festival, overlaid with a soundtrack of the festival music (as opposed to a live recording). And this one has a nice “on the spot” feel and some good shots of the flute players I wrote about in my column.

This entry was posted in Life in Japan, Uncategorized, What the Heck is That? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

